Chaz Mostert has finished P2 in Race 2 at the opening round of the 2020 Supercars Championship with new team Walkinshaw Andretti United.

Race 1 – Position 7 🏁

A whirlwind Friday saw Mostert on top of the time sheets in Practice 3, which included breaking the lap-record in the process. For Mostert, after advancing through stage 2 and into the shootout, he put in a ripping lap to start P4 for the 250km race. Mostert ran around P4 for the first 25 laps but lacked the final bit of speed to clear the cars in front and fight for a podium. Mostert popped out of the second round of stops in P7, which was where he went on to finish in the first race of the 2020 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship and his first with Walkinshaw Andretti United.

“Overall, a positive first race. We had some good battles out there, and got a solid result. We’ve got some good data to go through now, and hopefully we will come out stronger, but today was not a bad way to get things underway. Looking forward to tomorrow!”

Race 2 – Position 2 🏆

Mostert progressed from Q2 into the shootout, moving from P7 to P4, a great starting position for the 250km, 78-lap race. Mostert pitted from P6 at the first round of stops under safety car, where the team elected to long-fill him. While it put him in traffic, he was able to pass cars, and find clean air. That turned out to be a genius move, as the fill-time advantage he had over those in front came to fruition after the second stop, moving from P8 into P3. The pressure was relentless for the last 35-laps and a pit stop issue for Shane van Gisbergen meant he had to stop a third time, advancing Mostert into P2. Mostert held Cameron Waters at arm’s length behind him for the closing stages, before standing on the podium for the first time as a Walkinshaw Andretti United driver.

“Today was unbelievable. I didn’t expect that after yesterday. We had a good day on Saturday but to get a podium today was outstanding. In saying that, there’s plenty of things we can improve on, but it’s great to come out of Adelaide with a good bank of points and a shiny trophy. All things considered; it’s a dream start to the new chapter we are on. We want to make sure this is the norm, inside that top-five, and challenging for podiums.”


  1. Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing Team – 150 points
  2. Chaz Mostert, Walkinshaw Andretti United – 138 points
  3. Cameron Waters, Tickford Racing – 129 points
  4. Will Davison, Tickford Racing – 120 points 
  5. Jamie Whincup, Red Bull Holden Racing – 111 points